+44 7841 113613   +90 531 505 0923   London, UK     info@uniquelec.co.uk

Primary and Secondary Education in England

The education system in England is divided into four main sections: primary education, secondary education, further education and higher education. Children in the United Kingdom are legally obliged to attend primary and secondary education from the age of 16 to the age of 16.

The education system in the United Kingdom is also divided into “key steps” that are fragmented as follows:

Key Stage 1: Age 5-7
Key Stage 2: 7 to 11 years
Key Stage 3: 11 to 14 years
Key Stage 4: 14 to 16 years

Generally, the primary and secondary key stages will be done in primary school, and an 11-year-old student will pass the secondary school and finish the 3rd and 4th step.

Students are assessed at the end of each phase. The most important assessment is made at the age of 16 when students follow the GCSE or General Secondary Education Certificate. Once students complete their GCSEs, they have the option of continuing further education and then continuing higher education or entering the school finishing and study world.

In general the UK education system is divided into five main divisions:

Primary education

Primary education starts at the age of 5 in the UK and continues until the age of 11, with one and two important stages under the UK education system. For more information on primary education, please visit the British Council page.

Secondary education

Between the ages of 11 and 16, students will enter secondary school for the third and fourth levels and begin to progress towards GCSEs – learn more about secondary education in the UK and learn what they will include. In England, primary and secondary education is compulsory; After age 16, education depends on demand.

Scroll to top